Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (11)

The World of Kanako review

Posted : 1 year, 6 months ago on 11 December 2015 05:20 (A review of The World of Kanako)

WOW! I don’t know if that’s a full on “WOW that was incredible” or a “WOW I survived that” but just WOW

A father travels to & through hell and we almost get as battered and assaulted as he does looking for his Angel/Devil of a Daughter.

We go back & forth and loop de loop in the timeline, sometimes feeling dizzy, sometimes feeling exhilarated by the ADD fast cutting and bat shit crazy mix of music and images. As violent as all hell, some things work, some things don’t we somehow keep rooting for the guy even though he’s a total arsehole of a human being and as ever Koji Yakusho is sublime

It’s gorgeous to look at even when it’s grotesque. You might not like it or enjoy it but you’ll bloody remember it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Money Movers review

Posted : 2 years, 8 months ago on 18 October 2014 03:01 (A review of Money Movers)

Gritty Grimy Aussie Heist flick starring Jason Donovan's Dad, a young Bryan Brown, a bunch of actors who go on to star in Neighbours, a rubbish title and directed by the bloke who made Driving Miss Daisy.

It should suck a dingo's donga but me likely quite a bit. It's as manly a heist film as you could ever want, big slobberknocker punches, snarling brutes looking for a fight, a great "one man escapes many" scene, pretty much everyone's a bastard and the heist it's-self is a tense bloody treat.

Reminiscent of American 70's crime flicks like The Friends of Eddie Coyle or 70's Melville. I didn't expect much but it was a pleasant surprise.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Head-On review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:04 (A review of Head-On)

Not many pornstars can go from taking loads to giving one of the best performances of the decade but Sibel Kekilli is AMAZING in this and Birol Unel isn't bad either. A beautiful love story between two wrecks


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Host review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:03 (A review of The Host)

Monster/Sci-fi movies aren't really my thing but this hits me right in the sweet spot. First you have possibly my favourite actor of the decade Song Kang-Ho, you have the thrills of a giant tadpole on legs movie mixed in with a dysfunctional family drama, add in government conspiracy and you have another film that shouldn't work but Bong Joon-ho pulls it off with bells on. At times uplifting, at times tragic and comical. It's that perfect mix of light and dark that South Korea gets so well. PLUS it makes Cloverfield look like amateur hour in comparison


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:03 (A review of Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story)

The turn of the decade, John C Reilly dependable dramatic actor to unspeakably funny man. The songs, the cameo's, John C Fucking Reilly, laughs upon laughs. A musical biopic parody done to almost perfection and makes you wish there really was a Dewey Cox.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Waking Life review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:03 (A review of Waking Life)

Navelgazing, Pretentious indy waffle from a filmmaker i loath. As a film obsessive it kills me to have to turn a film off, i've sat through some truly horrible things but i've never wanted to get out of my seat jump into the tv and beat actors to death with a brick more than when i watched this piece of shit. I only watched it for 25 minutes!!!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

House of Flying Daggers review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:02 (A review of House of Flying Daggers)

Crouching Tiger has better fights, Hero is beautifully colourful but neither have the emotional impact of Flying Daggers which also is as visually stunning as Hero. Ziyi Zhang is exceptional.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Twilight Samurai review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:02 (A review of The Twilight Samurai)

STUNN-ING! Hiroyuki Sanada's performance, the pacing, the longing.... a fight scene with more tension than you could ever believe possible. A masterpiece.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

My Life as a Dog review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:01 (A review of My Life as a Dog)

The most beautiful depiction of childhood i've ever seen. A total joy that makes you long to be a child again.

I can't see how anyone can not fall in love with it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Confessions review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 30 June 2012 03:01 (A review of Confessions)

Although over directed (how many times can you put slow motion rain into a bloody film!!!) it's a tense, unpredictable, heartkicking bunch of great. Takako Matsu gives an incredible performance part vengeful bitch part sympathetic crushed soul. If you can see it without knowing too much you'll be gripped and shocked
from the very start, read the synopsis and it kills the first 20 minutes of the film. It's not for everyone, if your looking for happy happy people, with happy happy lifes with no sign of gloom then walk on by and go watch a Jennifer Aniston movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block